7/2/2023  My Ranger Biz
Formed in 1992, the Ranger Hall of Fame served the exclusive purpose of honoring and preserving the contributions of America’s most extraordinary Rangers. Those charged with administering the Ranger Hall of Fame take particular care to ensure that only the most extraordinary Rangers are inducted, a difficult mission given the high caliber of all nominees. The precepts are impartiality, fairness, and scrutiny. Inductees are impartially selected from the Ranger community, and represent all units and eras of Ranger history.


Each year up to 30 nominations may be submitted to the Ranger Hall of Fame’s Voting Board for consideration with respect to the 15 slots annually available for induction. Of these 30 nominations, the US Army Ranger Association may submit up to three for consideration. If you know someone who is deserving of consideration, please contact USARA’s Ranger Hall of Fame Coordinator by email at [email protected]. If approved, the coordinator will assist you with preparing a nomination packet. Nomination packets can be downloaded at Ranger.org


The selection criteria is as unique as our Ranger history. To be eligible for selection to the Hall of Fame, a person must be deceased or have been separated, or retired from active military service for at least three years at the time of nomination. He must have served in a Ranger unit in combat or be a successful graduate of the U.S. Army Ranger School. A Ranger unit is defined as those Army units recognized in Ranger lineage or history. Achievement or service may be considered for individuals in a position in state or national government after the Ranger has departed the Armed Forces.
Honorary induction may be conferred on individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to Ranger units, the Ranger foundation, or the Ranger community in general, but who do not meet the normal criteria of combat service with a Ranger unit or graduation from the U.S. Army Ranger School.


The Ranger Hall of Fame inducts one regular class each calendar year. The ceremony has historically been held at Ft. Benning, GA; where each inductee is presented with an engraved, specially cast bronze Ranger Hall of Fame medallion (shown above), suspended from a red, white and blue ribbon. The medal signifies selfless service, excellence and remarkable accomplishment in the defense of the nation and to the highest ideals of service.


LTC (Ret) Richard D. James

CSM (Ret) Charles Donald Baldridge

1SG (Ret) Marshall C. Huckaby

COL (Ret) Douglas L. Flohr

MAJ (Ret) James Grimshaw

LTG (Ret) Bernard S. Champoux

CSM (Ret) Ralph Beam

CSM (Ret) Jay Brimstin

CSM (Ret) Jan Schalavin

CSM (Ret) Ray A. Devens

CSM (Ret) Darrin J Bohn

CSM (Ret) William F. Thetford

GEN (Ret.) Joseph L. Votel

CSM (Ret) Richard Merritt

GEN (Ret.) Raymond A. Thomas III

HON: CW4 (Ret) Jose (Joe) C. Ibarra

HON: Mr. Dave Ermer

Facebook LinkedIn Twitter